I have dreamed

When I was growing up, I had a recurring dream of running, running, running, I was going to die, and at the last possible second, with danger, death and evil practically nipping at my heels, I flew.

Sometimes, I would dream that all my teeth were falling out.

I repeatedly dreamed that my house was on the Christmas Tour but no one had told me.

Good times.

In a few years falling asleep brought a little more hope. I found a tunnel in my basement that led right into a wonderful department store. Another time, I found an estate sale where exquisite items were selling for a quarter.

Once, when my car was surrounded by wolves, I was able to escape because I had a giant box of Milkbones with me.

But the best was yet to come. I was on vacation with my friend KB in Czechoslovakia. We were at a street corner and needed to cross, but the street was a sheet of ice. I took her hand, and we flew across.

Years later, the day after KB died, I took a nap and found myself in a baby’s clothing store. I saw KB, but I couldn’t seem to catch up to her. When I finally came close to her, she turned and handed me a cup engraved with the words “All is well.”

Then came the dream I cherish. I was in a tower, looking out a window. I saw a light coming closer and closer until it came into the room. I knew it was God. And then God turned into Claude Raines. He put his arms around me and said, “Have a wonderful life. I’ll see you in Paradise.”

I don’t expect a better dream than that.

2 responses to “I have dreamed”

  1. Wow. Nice.
    Thanks. 😉

  2. During the 10+ years of care giving to Thomas, this poem was kind of our online mantra for the wives of men who had kidney cancer! I couldn’t help but think of it when reading your blog tonight!

    “Guillaume Apollinaire
    “Come to the edge,” he said.
    “We can’t, we’re afraid!” they responded.
    “Come to the edge,” he said.
    “We can’t, We will fall!” they responded.
    “Come to the edge,” he said.
    And so they came.
    And he pushed them.
    And they flew.”

    When one of our loved ones died, we had a special page heading: “And They Flew!” I am not afraid for the day when I can FLY too!

    Loveingly, Sarah

Leave a comment