Sanctuary

img_3260

I was here yesterday.

For the first time since 1990. I was here for a memorial service. But, as it turned out, I was not only remembering a friend who died.  I was remembering a part of myself who died here, so many years ago.  I remembered singing here in a choir.  I remembered speaking here from the pulpit.  I remembered candlelight and community.  I remembered faces and sermons I loved.  I remembered the first time I came here and felt I was home. I remembered the last time I was here, sitting in the back pew because I felt shamed by what my then-husband had done.

Now I have an incredible husband, who sat beside me in not-the-last pew, as I shed tears and remembered.

It might still be my sanctuary, in every way possible.

Amen

4 thoughts on “Sanctuary

  1. I look at the wooden cross Tom made for he sanctuary every time I go. What a mix of people we have at this little new church start! How appropriate that this was the last thing he did before he was forced to finally gave up the fight. As you know he did not go willingly “into that good night!” It was, howervr, peacefully.

    So, I see him there……and always say, “hello hon!”

Leave a Reply

