I have cried all my tears

I went silent after the election, shocked and numbed by what had happened.  An orange-faced baboon with the attention span and emotional maturity of a toddler would be putting his generously formed, 70-year-0ld ass in the chair behind the desk in the oval office.  I was temporarily paralyzed.

Not anymore.  I donated to Planned Parenthood and to a  food bank serving Hispanic families.  I learned that if you call congresspeople rather than email, you have a better chance of getting your message across, because an aide has to answer phone and report the call.  You can be a huge pain in the ass.

I vowed never to accept that things are normal anymore.  There has been a shift, and it has changed how we look at this country, at our neighbors.  All I can do is save as many people as I can.  I will pay more attention to what goes on around me.  I will question the news.  We are not who I always thought we were.  That is my fault, for somehow deluding myself.  There is way more hate, and bias, and anger here.

The thing is, I have taken a deep breath.  I will do all I can.  In the meantime, I have put up my Christmas tree, and found a picture of this incredible, way over the top manger monstrosity, which I think is quite humorous.

img_3351

 

9 thoughts on “I have cried all my tears

  1. We’ve been fighting against “right-to-work” for 18 months with Koster; and now, because of the party-line voters in rural MO, we lost. Missouri will likely be a Right-To-Work state before spring sets in.
    And the elimination of prevailing wage is expected to follow.
    November 8th was a sad day for the skilled Missouri worker. And for the United States of America.

    You bet we are awake.

Leave a Reply

