The Jeffs And other Multiples

You know how sometimes you have people in your life who share a first name, and you are endlessly having to explain which one you mean?

Right now, it is a trinity of Jeffs. One of them has been a friend forever, it seems. He makes me laugh.  He sings magnificently, and he now lives too far away for me to hug everyday.  One of them is my therapist. He makes me laugh sometimes, but we don’t hug at all. The third is my physical therapist. We don’t hug, either, but he just beats the crap out of me on a semi-regular basis.

I had a trinity of Garys for ages.  One I was married to for waaaay too long.  One was my hairdresser. And one was my boss.

This isn’t my best post, by a long shot.

But J was really hard, guys.

really.

image

 

10 thoughts on “The Jeffs And other Multiples

  1. Can’t put my finger on it, but there was something about this one that I really liked!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Gosh, what is your best like then?! Here from the A-Z and like Jeff Schmidt above can’t pin why, but I thought this was rather a delicious post. Enjoyed the humour! 🙂

    Nilanjana.
    Ninja Minion, A-Z 2016
    Madly-in-Verse

  3. When we were building the library a few years back, it seemed like every other person involved in the project was named Tom (including, obviously, yours truly). I still sign all my emails ‘Tom C.,’ which causes some people to wonder, but it’s a habit now.

  4. In our family it’s Paul… I constantly have to ask… “Paul who?” especially as at my last job there were a few Paul’s as well! Then my good lady would also ask the question… 😉

  5. My daughter’s name is Sarah and my daughter-in-law’s name is Sara. (Don’t think for a minute that it wasn’t kind of weird for my son when he was dating his wife-to-be. They’ve been married for 25 years, so he got over it.) It’s easy to distinguish who is who when writing about them (the presence or absence of the “h”) but in conversation we often say Sarah K. or Sara J., using their middle names as qualifiers. Speaking of names, my first name is Melissa and I never met another one until I was 31 years old. Now, they’re all over the place. Yeah, I’m that old.

Leave a Reply

