I’ll be ready

“The opposite of love is not hate, it’s indifference. The opposite of beauty is not ugliness, it’s indifference. The opposite of faith is not heresy, it’s indifference. And the opposite of life is not death, but indifference between life and death.”

    – Elie Wiesel

The first time I went to my future husband’s tiny bachelor house, I saw this hanging on the wall in an unbelievably ugly plastic frame.  Today it hangs in our very lovely married home.  It’s in the same frame.

Someone told me once that if I had lived in Germany when Hitler rose to power, My attic would have been full of Jews.

I don’t have an attic in this house, but I have a huge, empty basement.  I will fill it with…..well I don’t know yet.  Not until the election.  But I will vote, and if a new demagogue rises, I’ll be in the market for cots and blankets.

 

 

image

 

9 thoughts on “I’ll be ready

  1. An attic or basement full of any variety of oppressed persons is the sign of a person worthy of passing through the gates of heaven, but since I don’t believe in such perhaps I should say worthy of the admiration of her or his fellow travelers. Love you.

  2. Here, here. If I had the money (or the basement), I’d be right there with you. I will not stand idly by if violence and discrimination become (again) the norm of America. And if any member of any ethnic group or religious faith are being told to “Go home,” they will find even my small apartment doors open to make my home their home and my family their family, too.

Leave a Reply

