As Times goes by…Lunatic edition

Our nightime habit is to watch tv before going to sleep.  We are always accompanied by a bed hogging standard poodle and an odd number of cats.  Here’s an example of typical conversation:

Me:  I discovered a detective series on Acorn that has that lady from the series you used to watch.

Richard: What series was that?

Me:  I can’t remember, but I do know it had Helen Mirren in it….just like Prime Suspect.

Richard:  Which lady is Helen Mirren there in the elevator?

Me:  The blond one.

Richard:  No, that’s not her.

Me: Of course it is.  That’s Helen Mirren.  Oh yeah, the name of the series you used to watch was As Time Goes By.

Richard: You know, the only reason I started watching it was because I had thought it had something to do with Casablanca.  But then I liked the characters.

Me:  So you should recognize Helen Mirren.

Richard: No

Me:  Why not.

Richard:  Because it was Judy Dench.

 

Anyway, we are enjoying Helen Mirren in Prime Suspect.

 

 

4 thoughts on “As Times goes by…Lunatic edition

  1. This is a second marriage for both of us (it’s lasted almost 40 years so far, so I guess it “took”) and we’ll often say things like “Don’t you remember the time you did such and such?” and it’ll turn out to have been the previous spouse who did it. Sometimes, though, that comes in handy if I don’t want to accept the blame for something. I’ll just say “Must have been your first wife.” hee hee

  2. I am the greatest at starting a sentence without thinking it through and end up with a sentence that has no substance because I can’t remember the important details. It made sense in my head though!😏

  3. Chuckling …. my husband and I have conversations like this all the time. I also have similar conversations with my friends; not in bed though!

Leave a Reply

