Mewing all the Way

This isn’t my best Christmas.  It isn’t me at the height of my Noelistic powers.  Gone are the days when my trees touched the ceiling and wore the crown jewels.

I have five cats now.

Numbers three and four really spelled the end.  That year, they were always IN the tree.

image

 

We called them “the tubes” because, as they grew, they were very long, with two short legs at the corners. No trees for awhile after that.

More than a year ago we got Grace, a Maine Coon.

image

 

The other two older cats are Newton (L) and Maxwell (R).  This year, I wanted a tree again.

And so, here it is, a Charlie Brown masterpiece, with nothing on it but lights.  The cats have completely ignored it.  I can’t really blame them. It’s beneath my dignity, too.  Maybe next year.

image

8 thoughts on “Mewing all the Way

  1. I can totally relate to your tree situation. I put my tree up earlier this month with only lights. Broke down and put some decorations on last week. So far so good. I’m now down to only 4 kitty babies. Sadly my oldest died last month. Have a Merry Christmas my friend!

  2. When I was a little girl, our family cat had to get surgery around the holidays, and she was forced into a cone of shame to keep her from biting her stitches. Back home, she would jump up into our Christmas tree, climb around inside for a bit, and then when she’d re-emerge, her cone would be filled with ornaments and baubles and tinsel. I’ve rarely seen anything more festive in my life than that pissed off cat and her cone full of sparkly surprises. 🙂

  3. We have three indoor cats and a great big tree. Not too much trouble yet. The youngest cat can’t stop drinking the water out of the base, but I guess I don’t mind that.

Leave a Reply

